sigh i love kdramas

Reviews on Korean and Asian Dramas

Hotaru no Hikari Review July 13, 2014

Filed under: Reviews — sighilovekdramas @ 12:22 am
Tags: , , , , ,

images

I felt like watching an older drama and so I chose Hotaru no Hikari which is a Japanese drama from 2007. It is based off of a manga of the same title. The plot of the story is a woman Hotaru is a professional businesswoman at work but when she goes home she is a slob. Her boss comes to live with her and discovers the dishelved messy side of her and tries to help her.

A12888802-5

I found this drama to be pretty funny and interesting. I could really relate to Hotaru with just wanting to laze around and have a messy house!!  I found this drama to be fun and lighthearted. I didn’t mind the actor playing Hotaru but I found her love interest to not have that much chemistry and found some things to be a little far-fetched.
 

images2

This series also has a second season called Hotaru Hikari 2 which I found to be not as interesting and would not recommend watching this series if you are not a diehard fan of the first series. 

hotaru2

 I did have to watch it because I needed to see what happened with the characters and so therefore I am still happy that I did watch it!  I became frustrated with the whole plot it was kinda weird with Hotaru being away from him for 3 years and so they are awkward with each other for so long.Fullscreen capture 2572010 93851 AM

I felt that I was waiting so long for them to even just share a kiss! The second series just seemed to be drawn out and it was more boring. The age difference seems like a big hurdle for them because she seems immature for her age and he seems more mature for his age!
 

Hotaru no Hikari 2 EP7-035

All in all I would recommend the first season for something fun to watch, but I would just skip the second season if you do not fall in love with the characters.

 

3 Responses to “Hotaru no Hikari Review”

  1. heyrainbows Says:

    This is one of the best dramas ever made! It’s so funny and sweet. The characters are also easy to relate to.

  2. I agree. I don’t like the season 2 so much. It was kinda weird that she only sent one letter for 3 years she was away, but despite of that, they still end up together and even got married. I love the movie part tho. I love that despite all of that happened to them, they ended up having a child


Leave a comment